Graphical Bug

The hands of the Atlas are tireless.
SARobb
Question Deflector
Question Deflector
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:17 am

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by SARobb » Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:23 am

Me too.

Also missing the mouse pointer, with a bit of trial and error i got into the options to try to change resolution (thinking that might solve the mouse pointer missing), but every resolution I tried did not work.

All good tho in the end... I got to see Outbreak again, grinning from ear to ear ... thanks nem soooooo much for this :mrgreen:

User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:26 am

Well.. it seems my "quick and easy" fix, won't be either :|
Main problem is the problem does not appear under linux, and i cannot trust VM results.

So, if any of you find people can use http://code.google.com/p/glintercept/
and can post a compressed log of login->char select->char-creation->alt+f4, i might be able to narrow this one down.
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

Cendwar
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:06 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by Cendwar » Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:10 pm

The intercept log is over 20MB compressed and I can't exactly post it through forums.
The regular log worked though.

I had to end the prog through task manager instead of alt+f4 but I made it all the way to outbreak. Hope that doesn't change anything too drastically.
Attachments
gliLog.zip
(2.93 KiB) Downloaded 186 times

User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:30 pm

Thank You for taking time to do this Cendwar.
I should be able to move one of the client's functions into a dll, and add some additional debugging there.
It seems the client is not initializing one of the call-lists, now knowing which one fails can point us in the direction of the failure point.
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 am

As promised, I've rewritten one of client's functions ( the one responsible for shader switching ), and added logging whenever glCallList error occurs.
The segs.dll will create a file named coh_call_list.log, on drive C:. which will contain the called list's index, and gl identifier.

So whoever would like to help out with tracking down that graphics glitch, should put the patched files in his segs-coh directory, and run 'CoH.exe' instead of the CityOfHeroes.exe.

The patched client is available here:

http://nemerle.eu/CoHpatched.zip
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

User avatar
Thar Be Dragons
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:06 am

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by Thar Be Dragons » Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:40 am

gliInterceptLog

Only up to login screen.
23.3 MB when unpacked.

EDIT: Got bigger log file (138.7 MB text file) this time and looks like lists 1-4 generate GL_INVALID_ENUM error.
I don't see calls to 5-7.

User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:58 pm

Another day, another patch :)
In this client, we have rewritten the function creating the call lists, and forced it to use software path in all cases.
On my machine it replicates part of the problem ( black textures in character creator )

If anyone with WORKING TEXTURES could download this version and see if things become broken please ?
http://nemerle.eu/CoHpatched_v2.zip
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

Shano
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:52 am

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by Shano » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:12 pm

Where do we put these patches, i think i understood but not sure. :? Really simple and presice instructions would be appreciated. Thanks :D

User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:40 pm

Unpack all the files from the zip archive into the directory that contains SEGS approved client version :)
Do not worry,, the files in the archive are named so, that You shouldn't have any need to overwrite anything.
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

Shano
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:52 am

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by Shano » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:41 pm

Ah i was doing i right then :P and then i just load the client i assume?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests