Graphical Bug

The hands of the Atlas are tireless.
User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:03 pm

Yup, just run CoH.exe -project WHATEVER_NAME_YOU'RE_USING :)
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:35 pm

Now..
I've managed to create an apitrace dump of the problematic gl call sequence.
I'd love to compare it to a dump from a properly working client and see what differences are there.

Steps to get the Trace.
  • Create a character ( enter outbreak -> close client )
  • get the apitrace ( link above )
  • install it somewhere, let's say C:\apitrace
  • use command line to run the client:

    Code: Select all

    cd \path\to\segs_approved_coh_client\
    C:\apitrace trace CityOfHeroes.exe -project SELECTED_PROJECT_NAME -nopixshaders
    
  • quickly login, select server, when you see your character use alt+f4
Your fresh 'trace' file should be available in \path\to\segs_approved_coh_client\CityOfHeroes.trace

Now use whatever means necessary to get that file to me :D
Last edited by nemerle on Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: clarification
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

Cendwar
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:06 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by Cendwar » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:10 pm

Took me a few tries to get this to execute... had to move all of CoX.exe into the Apitrace\x86\bin but I think I got it.
Then i ran

Code: Select all

apitrace trace cox.exe -project segs_test -nopixshaders

Saw my character and ended the prog.

Like this?
http://www.freeuploadshare.com/files/Dh ... 86545.html
Hopefully that DL works. I don't know an easy way to pass large files around. :oops:

User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:44 pm

Oh wow... it's a big one :)
I've expected a file ~20MB :)
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

Cendwar
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:06 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by Cendwar » Tue Feb 19, 2013 5:35 pm

I apologize. I misread and didn't know you where looking for one with working graphics. Ignore mine! My gfx arez brokenz :(

Err... that is what you meant by a working seq, yeah?

User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:24 pm

Aye..
Will clarify in original post :)
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

Calyx
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:41 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by Calyx » Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:33 pm

So... any luck on sorting out the graphical bug? It does me good just to hear the cheerful Atlas music, but my Atlas Park and toon are so terribly grim.

User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:43 pm

Had to lower the priority of that, SEGS is still a one developer show and I have to prioritize the work that might move the whole project :(
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

Calyx
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:41 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by Calyx » Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:44 pm

I totally understand!

I am one of the people who did not even have the base client installed, so I downloaded the linked torrent version and then applied the SEGS materials. Since it IS a texture issue, I wonder if I am missing some key files that would normally provide appearances for my toon? Everything else seems to be working for me as well as it does for anyone else...

I am no programmer, but I shall look for my old COX discs and see if a clean install from those + your patch sorts out my problem.

User avatar
nemerle
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: Graphical Bug

Post by nemerle » Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:22 pm

I've noticed an (likely mistakenly ) unused code path related to bump-mapping / gloss processing. it possible could have influence on the gfx bug.
Try the linked client, see if it fixes anything for you.
It has a different name then the default client exe, so You can just place the extracted file in your SEGS_CoH dir, and run it using your '-project ' commandline switch.

** update **

This fix is not working.. i wonder if that code path is used at all.
"Ich was in one sumere dale,
in one suthe diyhele hale,
iherde ich holde grete tale
an hule and one niyhtingale."

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests